| Voice conversation | Live spoken dialogue with one tutor character you create. You can interrupt at any moment; a transcript is kept. | Voice tutor with instant spoken responses, per its site. | Voice tutoring conversations, included in the free tier, per its site. | Kai can quiz you out loud and turn uploads into a podcast, per its site. | Text chat first: a guided, question-led tutor rather than an open spoken conversation. | Live spoken conversation with a general assistant. |
|---|
| Works from your own notes | Yes. Photograph your notes or upload a PDF or Word file; the tutor teaches from that material only. | Yes: notes, PDFs and YouTube videos can be uploaded; materials are optional. | Yes: PDFs, notes, slides and photos of homework, with answers grounded in that material. | Yes: lecture recordings, PDFs, slides and handwritten notes. | Built around Khan Academy's content library; uploading your own notes is not presented on its site. | Files can be uploaded in text chat; the voice conversation is open-ended and not tied to a course. |
|---|
| Course plan by chapter | Yes. The app reads your material's structure and turns it into an ordered plan; one session covers one chapter. | Not stated on its site. | Study plans generated from your uploads, per its site. | Not stated on its site. | Khan Academy's courses and units. | No plan; every conversation starts blank. |
|---|
| Quizzes and spaced repetition | Yes. A question bank generated chapter by chapter, with spaced repetition so missed questions come back sooner. | Practice questions generated from your documents; spaced repetition not stated. | Auto-generated quizzes and flashcards with instant scoring; spaced repetition not stated. | Yes: flashcards, practice tests and spaced repetition are core features. | Khan Academy practice exercises; spaced repetition not stated. | No quiz bank or spaced repetition; you can ask it to quiz you in the moment. |
|---|
| Homework help from a photo | Yes. Photograph an exercise and the tutor gives hints, not the answer. | Not stated on its site. | Yes: photos of homework can be uploaded. | Not stated on its site. | Step-by-step guidance that leads you to the answer rather than giving it. | Can read a photo and usually gives the answer. |
|---|
| Languages | 10 app languages; the tutor speaks the language you study in. | Not stated on its site. | 12 languages, per its site. | Not stated on its site. | Not stated on its site. | Many languages. |
|---|
| Platforms | Android app on Google Play; an iPhone version is on its way. | Web app, per its site. | Web-based, per its site. | iOS, Android and web. | Khan Academy web and apps. | iOS, Android and web. |
|---|
| Free tier | One subject, quizzes from your own notes and a trial of tutor minutes, free. Subscriptions add minutes and subjects. | Free plan with daily limits on AI words and documents, then premium plans, per its pricing page. | Free for individual students, per its site; team plans for schools and companies. | Core features free, with paid student plans, per its site. | Paid subscription for learners; free for eligible teachers. Learner accounts require a US billing address, per its site. | Free tier with daily limits on voice, per OpenAI's help center. |
|---|
| Where your data is processed | On Replio's European platform; conversation history can be deleted from the app. | Not stated on its site. | Not stated on its site. | Not stated on its site. | US organization; details in its privacy policy. | US organization; details in OpenAI's privacy policy. |
|---|